Vintage Chic Wedding Fair

Vintage Wedding Fairs with a modern twist

Say Hello to Buttercream & Dreams

Leave a comment

We’re thrilled to introduce you to Buttercream & Dreams which is a new cake exhibitor who’ll be showcasing their beautiful cakes and styling services at our next fair October 21st.

A pre requisite for all our Vintage Chic exhibitors is passion and flair which Buttercream & Dreams has plenty of.

We caught up with Charlotte, founder of Buttercream & Dreams who told us :

‘As a little girl I loved nothing more than helping my mother stir the cake mixture and waiting eagerly by the Rayburn for that yummy piece of heaven. And so a lifelong passion for all things cake began. I have always baked and my afternoon teas have become a firm family favourite.  Although initially only a hobby I spent hours admiring decorated cakes and viewed them as a work of art. My real passion for decorating began when I purchased Peggy Porschens cake books. I was in awe and loved the colours and intricate flowers on her creations.  I spent time practising myself and then undertook a Sugarcraft course to further develop these skills. I loved it immensely and spent hours practicing roses and piping. I love watching and learning new techniques and am member of the Wychavon Sugarcraft Guild. I have so much fun cake baking and seeing a finished piece gives me so much pleasure.

 

Whilst cakes were my great passion, I spent 8 years working within the creative industry at one of the world’s largest advertising agencies. I was lucky enough to work on some fantastic brands and projects and I drew so much inspiration and motivation from the creative teams that I was lucky enough to work with.  One of my favourite things was organising events and photoshoots where I had the opportunity to work with some fantastic people and have developed a great list of contacts.

When I set up Buttercream and Dreams I wanted to combine my skills and the things I love so cakes and weddings were the perfect combination. I love nothing more than helping people come up with ideas and styling and seeing it all come together for that magical day. My favourite so far was a fantastic 50’s inspired village fete wedding that we organised last year. It was immense amounts of fun and I got so carried away with ideas with tombolas, bunting and wildflower. I even had my husband up late the night before the wedding constructing me a ‘splat the rat’ game! We had a cake baking competition and were overwhelmed with entries from all the guests which made for a fantastic alternative dessert table.

I have a love of all things vintage and pretty and have an ever growing collection of vintage tea cups and cake stands. I just can’t resist them! I take so much inspiration from their delicate patterns and pretty colours and love to use these within my designs. I often find myself making flowers for cakes based on a pretty cake plate or basing an event around a pretty tea cup. Add to that my collection of pretty table cloths, fabrics and prints and I have a never ending supply of ideas. I just don’t have enough time in the day to bake all the cakes I would love to make!

Above all I love helping transform people’s dreams in to a reality. Whether that be a pretty cake or a whole event. I just love it!’

Based in Worcestershire, Buttercream & Dreams not only create beautiful handcrafted vintage cakes but also provide an event organising service to help you style and theme your vintage chic wedding day.

You can meet Charlotte at our fair on 21st October 2012 at The Centennial Centre Birmingham and in the meantime why not stop by her website www.buttercreamanddreams.com

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

